• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Ric

Ric

Dirty old man

• Valhalla
  • 4,510 posts

Posted 16 February 2019 - 09:10 PM

*disclaimer*   I'm new to AWD in slidey stuffs and only know front engine, rear wheel drive to any talent.

I did miserably.   I was on my OEM Dunlops, which are summer performance only, and the 1st 3 of 6 runs were soupy mud.  I've never had to use more sidebrake ever in any of my motor sports history.  They ran Modified 4wd "M4" in the last half.   Incidentally they re-watered the surface and it was super slippery even on the parade lap.  1st half had way better dirt and I got dusted constantly working the course.  I guess if you want less dust - make the fast AWD/4WD cars deal with it.  lol 

Snow tires...   unless I want group N brakes and run real 15" rally tires I'll need to buy bleeding edge brakes so I can get pads that take track days.   Fuck.

I did take video, but it's upside down. Fucking go pro showed a proper display so we figured it was good to go.   Nope to the fuck them. Wrecked the recording of my 1st experience.  If I can find software to flip it and isn't something that is intrusive - I'll get it to y'all.  

In all - I had a blast.  when the surface dried, I was doing great (probably okay).   In all my years of autocross  - you get behind the cone and know where you'll be in 3 gates.  In today's experience - you're beside the cone and looking for a transition to rotate in a short focus.

I'll keep doing it because all in all, it was WAAY more fun that autocross.   The car is going to be used for most motor sports so I don't want to geld it for one to benefit another. 

As it were... "67" is my year of birth and I used it in games with a choosable number.   I'll be 714 forward now that I can see I can choose 3 digits.

Here is our dirty STI.

31ZspGe.jpg

• JasonP likes this

#2 blue109

blue109

Dirty little wheel whore

• Veterans
  • 2,274 posts

Posted 17 February 2019 - 06:22 AM